Committee Areas
Nelson Institute Calendar of
Environmental Events
at the University of Wisconsin-Madison

Environmental Links

350 http://350.org/

Aldo Leopold Foundation http://www.aldoleopold.org/

The Alliance for Climate Protection http://www.climateprotect.org/

American Farmland Trust http://www.farmland.org/

American Forests http://www.americanforests.org/

American Rivers http://www.amrivers.org/

Ancient Forest International (AFI) http://www.ancientforests.org/

Beyond Pesticides http://beyondpesticides.org/main.html

Bicycle Federation of Wisconsin http://www.bfw.org/

Biodiversity Project (Madison) http://www.biodiversityproject.org/

Bluewater Network http://www.bluewaternetwork.org/

Boston Research Center (Earth Charter page) http://www.brc21.org/earth.html

Carbonfund.org http://www.carbonfund.org/

Car-Free Challenge http://madisonenvironmental.com/projects_carfree2005.htm

Center for a New American Dream http://www.newdream.org/

Center for Health, Environment and Justice http://www.chej.org/

The Charles Darwin Foundation http://www.galapagos.org/

Citizens Energy Cooperative http://solar.madisonwi.us/cecofwi/ (archive of 2006 site)

Citizens Energy Cooperative 2008 http://solar.madisonwi.us/cecofwi/default.htm (new site)

Citizens for Safe Water Around Badger http://www.cswab.org/

Clean Air Task Force http://www.catf.us/

The Clean Energy Project (at Harvard) http://cleanenergy.harvard.edu/

Clean Wisconsin (formerly Wisconsin's Environmental Decade) http://www.cleanwisconsin.org/

Clear the Air http://cta.policy.net/

Coalition for Environmentally Responsible Economies http://www.ceres.org/

Community Car http://communitycar.com/

The Conservation Fund http://www.conservationfund.org/

Cool Congregations http://www.coolcongregations.com/ (Carbon Footprint Quiz)

Cooler http://www.climatecooler.com/

The David Suzuki Foundation

Deconstructing Dinner http://deconstructingdinner.ca

Defenders of Wildlife http://www.defenders.org/

Earth Charter Community Summits http://www.earthchartersummits.org/

Earth Charter Initiative (international) http://www.earthcharter.org/

Earth Charter USA http://www.earthcharterusa.org/

Earth Day Network http://www.earthday.net/

Earth Hour US http://www.earthhourus.org/

Earthjustice http://www.earthjustice.org/

The Energy Blog http://thefraserdomain.typepad.com/energy/

Energy Star for Congregations http://www.energystar.gov/index.cfm?c=small_business.sb_congregations*

Environmental Action Teams (EnAct) http://www.enactwi.org/

Environmental and Energy Study Institute http://www.eesi.org/

Environmental Defense http://www.environmentaldefense.org/home.cfm

Environmental Law Institute http://www.eli.org/

First Unitarian Society Environmental Action Committee http://www.fusmadison.org/sj/environmentalaction.shtml

Focus on Energy http://focusonenergy.com/

Four Lakes Group Sierra Club http://www.4lakes.org/

Gaylord Nelson and Earth Day http://www.nelsonearthday.net/

Global Action Plan for the Earth http://www.globalactionplan.org/

The Great Turning http://www.thegreatturning.net/

Green Corps http://www.greencorps.org/

Green Cross International http://www.gci.ch/

Green for All http://www.greenforall.org/

Green Sanctuary Program http://www.uuministryforearth.org/grs_overview.htm

Habitat ReStore http://www.habitatdane.org/restore/

Healthy Families, Healthy Environment http://healthyfamiliesnow.org/

Home Energy Magazine http://www.homeenergy.org/index.php

The Institute for Social Ecology http://www.social-ecology.org/

International Crane Foundation http://savingcranes.org/

Izaak Walton League of America http://iwla.org/

John Muir Chapter Sierra Club http://wisconsin.sierraclub.org/

Land Trust Alliance http://www.lta.org/

League of Conservation Voters (LCV) http://www.lcv.org/

Madison Area Community Supported Agriculture Coalition http://www.macsac.org/

Madison Area Eco Team Program http://www.ecoteams.net/madison/

Madison Audubon Society http://www.madisonaudubon.org/

Madison Freecycle http://groups.yahoo.com/group/madisonfreecycle/

Madison Hours http://www.madisonhours.org/

Midwest Environmental Advocates http://midwestadvocates.org/

The Midwest Organic and Sustainable Education Service http://www.mosesorganic.org/

The Midwest Renewable Energy Association http://the-mrea.org/

Moral Economy Project http://moraleconomy.org

Mpowering Madison http://www.mpoweringmadison.com/

National Environmental Trust http://environet.policy.net/ National Parks Conservation Association http://www.npca.org/

National Religious Partnership for the Environment http://www.nrpe.org/

National Wildlife Federation http://www.nwf.org/

NativeEnergy http://nativeenergy.com/

Natural Heritage Land Trust (Wisconsin) http://www.nhlt.org/

The Nature Conservancy http://nature.org/

NeighborNation.net http://www.neighbornation.net/kiosk/

Nuclear Energy Information Service http://www.neis.org/

Nuclear Information and Resource Service http://www.nirs.org/

NukeFree.org

Oil and Gas Accountability Project http://ogap.org

Pesticide Action Network North America http://www.panna.org/

Plug-In Partners http://pluginpartners.org/

Population Connection http://www.populationconnection.org/

Preserve Our Climate http://www.madison.com/communities/preserveourclimate/

Public Employees for Environmental Responsibility http://www.peer.org/

Rainforest Alliance http://www.rainforest-alliance.org/

Recycling Away from Home http://www.madisonrah.org/

The Regeneration Project http://www.theregenerationproject.org/

Reusable Bags http://www.reusablebags.com/

Rocky Mountain Institute http://www.rmi.org/

Running the Numbers http://www.chrisjordan.com/current_set2.php Chris Jordan photo series

Sacred Balance http://www.sacredbalance.com/

Silent Spring http://silentspring.org/

Skeptical Science

Solar Owner News http://solar.madisonwi.us/

Step It Up 2007 http://stepitup2007.org/

Sustain Dane http://www.sustaindane.org/, including Madison Area Green Pages

Tar Sands Action http://www.tarsandsaction.org/

The Trust for Public Land http://www.tpl.org/

Transition Madison Area http://transitionmadisonarea.wordpress.com/

Unitarian Universalist Ministry for Earth http://www.uuministryforearth.org/

Vote Solar http://www.votesolar.org/

We Can Solve It http://www.wecansolveit.org/content/homepage/

West Waubesa Preservation Coalition http://www.danecorpc.org/

The Wilderness Society http://www.wilderness.org/

Wildlife Conservation Society http://wcs.org/

Wisconsin Climate Change Legislation http://www.PetitionOnline.com/climate/petition.html

Wisconsin Interfaith Climate & Energy Campaign http://www.wicec.org/

Wisconsin League of Conservation Voters http://www.conservationvoters.org/

Wisconsin Sustainable Futures Network http://www.madison.com/communities/wsfn/

Wisconsin Walks http://wisconsinwalks.org/

Wisconsin Wetlands Association http://www.wiscwetlands.org/

Wisconsin's Nuclear WatchDog http://www.wnwd.org/

World Conservation Union http://www.iucn.org/

World Resources Institute http://www.wri.org/

World Wildlife Fund http://worldwildlife.org/

Worldwatch Institute http://www.worldwatch.org/
__________________
* This EPA program provides the Putting Energy Into Stewardship Congregations Guide.


Deep Ecology
The following 3 study groups met at Prairie during 2001-2002, using study materials put to together by the Northwest Earth Institute. Each study group presented a Sunday morning program at Prairie early in 2002.

Choices for Sustainable Living
This study group focuses on ways we can meet our needs today so that we do not compromise the ability of future generations to meet their needs. Through reading and discussion of material in the study packet, members of the group personally explore our society, the communities we live in, and our way of life, and apply the notion of sustainability to them. For example, the materials cover such topics as an economic model of global trends, community supported agriculture, and how to decide which product to buy for your home.

Voluntary Simplicity
This study group explores the material and psychological distractions in our society that prevent us from caring for our earth and the connections between our lifestyle choices and degradation of our environment.

Exploring Deep Ecology
The purposes of this study group are to clarify earth-related values, to discover how personal values affect the way we view and treat the earth, and to understand what it means to take personal responsibility for the earth.

Return to Prairie Social Action Committee
Home Page